10 Comments

Librarians’ libraries

Spotted a fun new meme on Swiss Army Librarian’s blog: the bookshelves of librarians! In his own words:

“Librarians are social creatures, right? Despite dowdy stereotypes, many of us are out there Web 2.0β€²ing it up – among other things, we like sharing our photos on flickr and our books on LibraryThing. So, I thought a fun meme would be to combine the two – show photos of our personal books and bookshelves.”

Mainly, I just liked seeing his pics and learning that I’m not the only librarian out there who takes my work home with me, so to speak!

So these are my bookshelves:

My fiction shelves

Fiction shelves

Fiction and non-fiction shelves

Fiction and non-fiction shelves

Non fiction

Non fiction and reference shelves

Click the images for their descriptions on Flickr. Yes, I know, I have too much time on my hands…

Hope some more people pick up this meme – would love to see how everyone else keeps their books! You don’t have to have actual shelves in order to participate, pics of teetering stacks of books are acceptable too!

P.S. Can anyone think of a decent, short, snappy tag to use for this meme? Having a creativity failure this evening 😦

10 comments on “Librarians’ libraries

  1. I’ve been meaning to take photos and blog about my books for a while now! Ever since I read this article (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/8264572.stm) about the Ikea Billy bookcase last year but I forget everytime I go back home to my parents house. Sadly my bookcases have been left behind and I can’t imagine I’ll have space for them for a couple of years. How I miss my good old Ikea Billy bookcases!

    • Ooh, nice article! Must have missed that first time round…

      I know how you feel – I’ve only recently shifted all my books from my mum and dad’s house to my own flat, mainly because I’ve only recently lived in my own flat with enough space for books! Think my folks were relieved to have all my stuff out of the house, although my book collection is a drop in the ocean compared to my mum’s… Think I’ll take some pics of her bookshelves next time I’m home to add to this πŸ™‚

  2. #libslibs? πŸ™‚ (I know that lacks the apostrophe but Twitter tends to give up on tags halfway through if you use anything too exciting in them…)

    Our book shelves are getting increasinly two-books-deep now – we need to do a cull at the wikiman household.

    • I feel your pain. Had to get rid of quite a lot of my books so I could fit them in the flat! Have resolved not to actually buy books any more unless they’re ones I know I’ll read multiple times. Trying to make better use of my local library and http://www.readitswapit.co.uk instead.

      Oh, and #libslibs could work… I’m sure I could learn to live with the missing apostrophe!

  3. Hi Laura,
    Glad to see your shelves look exactly like mine πŸ™‚
    Many thanks for your comment on my last blog entry and also big thanks for coming to support Ned and myself at the Y&H Member’s Day in April πŸ˜‰
    Looking forward to meeting ya. I’m gonna try and sort out your travel expenses as I’m CDG Events Co-Ordinator πŸ™‚

    Joel

    • Cheers Joel, looking forward to meeting you too! Always nice to know the little people in my computer have RL counterparts… πŸ˜‰

      Sorting out travel expenses would be very welcome indeed – I do have a Career Development Loan to pay off, after all! πŸ˜€
      Laura

  4. Hi Laura, having a nosey through your blog – I love this meme! I shall attempt to do my version later. Nice one πŸ™‚

Leave a comment