1 Comment

2015: professional development review

So, I have half an hour left of my last working day of 2015, my desk is about as tidy as it’s ever going to get… So I think I’ve got time for a quick reflection on how the year has gone!

Mainly, it’s gone…fast. It doesn’t seem five minutes since I was writing my professional goals for the year back in January! I loved Michelle Bond’s blog post on sharing the awesome things you did during the year, so I thought I’d close off the year here by listing a few things I’ve done/achieved in my professional life in 2015…

  • I did lots of fun stuff with the social media accounts at work, including a celebration of National Libraries Day in February and a library tips “advent calendar” throughout December
  • Supervised two Chinese students from the School of Education, who did a work placement with the library in January-March
  • Completed a City & Guilds Level 3 award in teaching and learning at Northern College in June
  • Attended the SLA conference in Boston, on the Bonnie Hilditch International Librarian Award (applications for next year close soon, btw!)
  • Attended the CILIP conference in Liverpool
  • Spoke at the CILIP Yorkshire & Humberside and UKeIG joint members day in July – my first professional speaking gig for a long time!
  • Took over line management of a team of library assistants in September
  • Delivered a joint workshop with a colleague at the Relationship Management in HE Libraries conference in November
  • Generally learned lots and did lots of new things in my first full year as a subject librarian in an HE library!

Wow, when I list it out like that it actually does look like a lot! It’s useful sometimes to look back and remember what you’ve done over the course of a year. Some of it feels so long ago now!

I’d also like to review how my goals for 2015 went. On first glance, I’ve achieved most of them I think…

  1. Blog at least once per month – I didn’t exactly manage this, there were a few months when I didn’t blog at all, but I’ve written 16 blog posts this year (17 including this one), so I’ve averaged out at more than one per month across the year!
  2. Make some new professional contacts – I’ve definitely achieved this! I’ve gone to lots of networking events, conferences etc. this year and spoken at a few. It’s been interesting going to more HE-specific library events as I am meeting people outside of my existing circle of contacts. I’ve also recently joined the CILIP Information Literacy Group committee, which is bringing me into contact with yet more awesome library people!
  3. Undertake some formal professional development – I think my Level 3 Teaching & Learning certificate definitely counts as this! I’m really proud of this achievement, and would like to continue to build on it.

So, how about 2016? Here are my goals for the coming year:

  1. Continue to blog regularly, and try to post more reflective/questioning posts rather than ones specifically about events I’ve attended.
  2. Submit my chartership portfolio – this is getting ridiculous really, I should have chartered long ago! I’m practically there, I just need to force myself to make the time to actually put it all together and submit.
  3. Submit a proposal to speak at a conference. I’m attending LILAC this year and hopefully one or two others, but I’d like to do more conference speaking. I really enjoyed the Relationship Management conference, and would definitely like to do more of this.

That’s it from me for this year! See you all in 2016 🙂

Feliz Año Nuevo / Happy New Year

‘Feliz Año Nuevo / Happy New Year’ by Ana on Flickr, shared under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 https://flic.kr/p/dG6sAJ

One comment on “2015: professional development review

  1. […] by Woodsie’s blog on 2015/16 I’ve decided to reflect on the last year and make some goals for the […]

Leave a Reply

