13 Comments

New job!!!

I have an announcement to make: I am leaving the law library sector and starting a brand new job! As of January, I will be the Research and Information Officer for Brake, the road safety charity.

I am hugely excited about this new role. It’ll be a big change for me: no more corporate law! This new role will be much more directly supporting the team I work within, rather than producing discrete pieces of research that are then taken away to become… I know not what. As I’ll be working within a very small team, I’ll also have a lot more direct responsibility: I’m going from being one of 11 librarians in a firm with more than 1500 staff worldwide, to being the sole researcher in a team of less than 30 people.

A more important change than all the above though, from my point of view at least, is the nature of the organisation I’ll be working for. For some time now, I’ve felt like I needed to be doing something more worthwhile with my life. Not that I don’t enjoy working for a law firm, but I don’t feel like what I’m doing is actively making the world a better place. It’s not necessarily making it a worse place either – I’m not naive enough to think that lawyers = evil (I don’t work for Wolfram & Hart!), and I know our firm does a lot of good, but that somehow doesn’t feel like enough.

Brake is an amazing charity. They campaign for road safety, and support those bereaved or injured in road crashes. Regular readers will know that the latter is something close to my heart. They are a small charity, with a big impact, and I can’t wait to be a part of that.

The other big change, of course, is that I’m not entirely sure I can call myself a librarian any more! This is of course an information role, but it’s a part-research, part-communications role – not a lot of it is a typical librarian job, even accounting for the broader “special librarian” definition I’ve been working on so far. At least, that is going by the job description – I’ll have to decide whether I still feel like a librarian once I’ve been in post for a while! Stay tuned for another post on that in the new year…

13 comments on “New job!!!

  1. Congratulations and hope you will enjoy it very much!

  2. Congratulations! It sounds like a really interesting role, and working for a charity must be so rewarding. Its something I’m interested in as a possible career, so please blog all about it!

  3. Congratulations! This sounds like a wonderful opportunity, best of luck!

  4. Congratulations. Brake are a very good charity and have helped me in the past. They were also very friendly and calm in their manner, which unfortunately was not the case with another road safety charity I have had dealings with. I’m sure you’ll do a great job and I look forward to hearign about what the work involves. Sarah

  5. Fab news – you spend so much of your life in a workplace, that it’s so important to make it work that you enjoy or are interested in, if possible!

  6. Great news Laura! Sounds like a brilliant opportunity. 🙂

  7. Congratulations Laura! I hope you will find the new job fulfilling and rewarding.

  8. oooooooooh brilliant news! That’s really exciting – sure you’ll have a fabulous time. Look forward to hearing all about it!

  9. Congratulations Laura. I’m glad that you found a position that is in harmony with your work values.

  10. I’m so very happy for you, Laura! I can imagine that it will be a very fulfilling job. The world isn’t losing a law librarian, it’s gaining a road safety information professional extraordinaire! Mazel tov, as my people say.

  11. Thanks all for the congratulations! And yes, I will make sure to blog all about it 🙂

  12. Belated congratulations! And good luck with the new job 🙂

  13. That’s exciting news! I wish you all the best in your new role.

    Librarians’ roles are changing as we speak and this brings new and fascinating opportunities. I feel that being a librarian is more than a job title or a label but a way of thinking and being.

    I am looking forward hearing how your new role emerges.

Leave a Reply

