2 Comments

Fundraising for Winston’s Wish

I have been trying to keep this blog solely for professional stuff for a while, and keeping the personal stuff for my other blog, so please forgive this brief, off-topic post…

Regular readers will know that I lost my sister, Mandi, earlier this year. In her memory, on 15 September I will be taking part in the Winston’s Wish Sunrise Walk. Winston’s Wish is a charity that supports bereaved children: they have been an enormous help to my family in looking after Mandi’s two little boys since they lost their mother.

I set up a JustGiving page for this event a few months ago, and have been overwhelmed with how generous everyone has been so far – particularly my Twitter friends! I wanted to first of all say a massive thank you to everyone who’s donated so far, and also to bring this to the attention of anyone who’s not seen it yet.

I don’t really like asking for money, but I’m so close to my fundraising target now that I thought it was worth an extra push. If anyone reading would be willing to sponsor me for this event, any amount would be hugely appreciated.

Many thanks.

2 comments on “Fundraising for Winston’s Wish

  1. Reblogged this on nikkilukepsych and commented:
    Laura’s post is a great reminder that while my research might focus on maltreated children, there are loads of kids out there dealing with other kinds of loss and trauma who need support. Please read and, if possible, show your support by donating on Laura’s fundraising page.

  2. Good Luck with this and I have added a bit to help too.

Leave a Reply

