3 Comments

CPD23 Thing 9: Evernote

This post is part of 23 Things for Professional Development.

I really wasn’t sure about Evernote to begin with. I’d been vaguely aware of it as a service for a while – I know a few people who use it, and they all rave about it, but I couldn’t quite see that I had a need for it really. I use Delicious for saving websites I want to remember, Google Docs for documents I want to edit online and/or share with others, Nirvana for organising my to-do lists, and Read It Later for articles I want to, well, the clue is in the name. I can see the benefit of having all those services in one basket, but actually I quite like having them separate – less to worry about if one service goes down, and I use them all for different purposes so it makes sense for me to keep them as separate services.

But CPD23 is all about trying out new things, so I gave it a whirl. I didn’t think I’d really be able to use it at work because I can’t install things on my work PC – or so I thought, until I decided to try installing it anyway and was shocked to see that it all installed fine, with nary an error box or “this service is blocked” message to be seen! No idea why that got around my company’s firewalls, but I’m working on the assumption that if I was able to install it then it’s fine to use at work. If it turns out that I shouldn’t have been able to install it and it gets removed then that’s no big deal either, as I can still get into the website from work and you can use the web interface without having to install anything, so that’s a plus for me.

The interface is nice and clean, and seems straightforward to use. Plus, it has elephants on it 🙂 I do like the mobile app as well – I could actually see using it more on my mobile than on the PC, for recording things on the go.

But the question for me still remains – what would I actually use it for? I’ve had it all installed and set up for a couple of weeks, and all I’ve done with it so far is share a shopping list with my partner, and clip a couple of recipes that I fancied trying out. I think that’s probably where the use in it will be for me – saving things that would be useful to look and and edit offline as well as online. I think I’ll probably use this more for personal stuff than professional – I’m happy with the systems I already have set up for recording professional development and chartership stuff. I think it might be interesting to revisit this in a few months time, to see if my use of Evernote has changed at all. Perhaps when I get used to it I’ll find more uses for it.

3 comments on “CPD23 Thing 9: Evernote

  1. I use it for both personal and work things – mainly reminder notes personally and for work mainly taking notes at workshops or the like.

    • That’s interesting. I’m not sure I’d use it for taking notes really – I’d rather take notes in word and save them to dropbox, tbh it prob wouldn’t occur to me to use evernote for that.

Leave a Reply

