5 Comments

CPD23 Thing 5: Reflective Practice

This post is part of 23 Things for Professional Development.

reflection

Obligatory arty photo of reflections

I’ve been struggling over this Thing for I started this blog largely as a place to reflect on my career and CPD activities, but it’s turned into more of a diary than an actual reflective tool. Reading the other CPD23 blogs on this topic, it seems I’m not alone in this though!

I like the simplicity of the Borton model cited in the CPD23 blog: the “what” “so what” “now what” model. I think my blog is pretty heavy on the “what”, getting there with the “so what”, but needs a lot more emphasis on “now what”. I need to get into the habit of actually evaluating my CPD activities, and setting clear action points afterward. A couple of other CPD23 bloggers have given some great examples of how to do this: Laura at Palely Loitering has bitten the bullet by putting her action points right there on the blog, as she says to encourage her to stick to them, and Girl in the Moon has a great idea for doing quarterly reviews of all the activity recorded on her blog.

Inspired by them both, here are my action points for developing my reflective practice skills:

  • Use the Borges model as a framework for my blog posts, bearing in mind Emma’s suggested questions for evaluating activities
  • Write up events/training within 3 days of attending – I’m terrible for leaving things too late, so I’ve forgotten most of it by the time I get around to doing a write-up! I don’t think I necessarily need to write a full blog post within 3 days, but at least some initial notes and first impressions to keep it fresh in my mind
  • Schedule quarterly reviews of all the activity recorded on my blog – what have/haven’t I been putting into practice from what I’ve learned?
5 comments on “CPD23 Thing 5: Reflective Practice

  1. I’m glad you like my quarterly-review idea. We should try and keep an eye on each other to make sure we stick to it!

    • Good idea! I nicked your idea of using the Quarter Days for it too – so if you don’t see any round-up type post here at the end of September, feel free to tell me off! πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you for the reminder that it is not enough to reflect, we much make action points for ourselves. Sometimes I fall into the trap of can’t be dealing with it so stick head in sand. This gets me nowhere! I have done a winter solstice and summer solstice reflection on my blog which I’m probably going to stick to. It outlines my huge main goals. Its the little daily ones I’m sometimes struggle with. Had a #cpd23 catch up yesterday and afterwards felt almost numb, however when I got home and thought about it, I realised there were action points in there I just had to filter them out! Evaluating what we do is essential, otherwise what was the entire point. For example, the point of doing CPD23 is?………
    Great post Laura πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! I struggle with picking out goals sometimes too – particularly when I’ve been at meetings with some of colleagues who are real ideas people. I’m very details and practicalities orientated, so it’s a struggle for me sometimes to pick something actionable out of the kind of free-flowing ideas sessions that our meetings sometimes turn into!

Leave a Reply

