10 Comments

Personal matters: update

This is an entirely personal post, please skip if you’d rather read my librarian-y stuff.

Some of you may know that my mum was diagnosed with cancer last summer (I’ve mentioned it before here and here). I’m sorry to say that just over a week ago, in the early hours of Sunday 17 April, Mum passed away. She was in hospital but it was very peaceful, and the whole family was together with her.

Thank you to those people who already knew about this and have sent kind messages. I don’t quite have the energy to respond to everyone but I am reading them and they are a great comfort. I’m with my family at the moment, we’re all still in shock really but are supporting each other the way Mum would have wanted.

10 comments on “Personal matters: update

  1. I’m so sorry. Take care.

  2. Laura – so sorry for your loss.

  3. I’m so, so sorry. I’ll keep you and your family in my thoughts.

  4. So sorry to hear – glad you were all there for her. I’ve been there myself and the next few months will be the strangest you’ve ever had. Thinking of you and sending good vibes.

  5. We’ve never met but I regularly read your blog; so sorry to hear about your mom’s passing. I know how awful it is to have a parent with cancer. God bless.

  6. I am so glad that you were all together, and I hope that you can all share your good memories over the coming months. Look after yourself, thinking of you.

  7. Very sorry to hear this. Thinking of you

  8. Laura – very good thing to do, to write. Thoughts very much with you, having trodden a very similar path over the last year – mum’s oesophagal cancer diagnosis Jan, temporary remission last summer, died November. But it was a peaceful process in the main, one of acceptance, and unexpected family bonding and resilience, but also of heartbreak. I wish you and family the very best. Px

  9. So sorry to read the news. It’s the toughest of things to get through but it’s great that your family is so close and supportive. Thinking of you.

  10. I’m sorry to read of your mother’s passing, Laura. Thinking of you and your family today.

Leave a Reply

