4 Comments

Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

Photo courtesy of Flickr user photon bomb

Well, here’s to 2010! 2009 was a pretty good year for me overall, so really I’m hoping for much the same from 2010. There’s quite a few good things coming up this year – I will hand in my dissertation in a couple of weeks; jet off to Egypt for a much-needed holiday shortly after that; and then it’s a few months waiting to see if I’ve actually passed my course! My job has recently been made permanent, so I’m looking forward to seeing how I can develop in my role – although it isn’t a qualified librarian’s post, I still think there are opportunities to learn more and take on more responsibility within the role.

On the personal side, my sister is getting married in August, so it’ll be all hands on deck this summer getting everything organised! It’ll be a pretty busy party year for my family all round actually – my parents 30th wedding anniversary is in July, and my (other) sister turns 40 in September. I’ll be knackered by October!

I have a lot I want to achieve this year, so I thought I’d post my new years resolutions here (so I can’t deny ever having made them when I inevitably fail on at least half…). Here goes:

  1. Start going to the gym on a regular basis. I make this resolution every year, and every year I’ve broken it by February. I see no reason to leave it off my list this year – maybe I’ll actually do it this time!
  2. Keep learning. As mentioned, I will be finishing my MSc in a couple of weeks; I’ve also been doing the BIALL Legal Foundations Course since September, and will finish it in March. I’ve realised over the past almost-two-years how much I’ve missed learning new things. I don’t want to give that up just because I’ve got the qualifications I need.
  3. Related to #2 – brush up on my web skills. My basic knowledge of HTML and CSS has come in surprisingly useful at work, but attending events like Mash Oop North made me realise just how much I don’t know. In particular, I’d like to learn Javascript – I know enough to be able to edit code someone else has written, but not to write it myself.
  4. Related to #3 – learn how to use Yahoo Pipes. Looks like a really useful tool but the few times I’ve tried to use it I’ve given up because I can’t figure out the interface. Think it’s time for another try – I WILL NOT LET IT BEAT ME, DAMMIT!!
  5. Write more. And I don’t just mean blogging/professional stuff (although I would like to try to write more for publication – it was fun doing the CILIP Gazette article about the Library Routes project). I used to do a fair amount of creative writing (not much good, but I enjoyed it!) but that’s fallen by the wayside over the last year or so. I’d really like to pick that up again. Have been toying with the idea of doing some kind of course, but not sure if I can afford it!
  6. And a specific one to finish with – submit a proposal for the New Professionals Conference in July. I got a lot out of attending last year, and would really like to try to contribute something this year. Plus, it might help me get over my crippling stage fright…

A reasonable list of goals I think! Wish me luck…

4 comments on “Happy New Year!

  1. Wooo! I was going to hassle you by suggesting you submit a proposal for NPC 2010, very glad you are thinking of doing so!

  2. I’m really pleased you’re going to submit a proposal for the New Professionals Conference, I’m hoping to attend again this year and I’d love to see you on the programme. I found it a really worthwhile experience last year, incredibly scary but really actually quite enjoyable in the end.

    Sounds like you have a busy year ahead of you, hope it’s a really good one for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

