2 Comments

Countdown to SLA 2009

With just a few days to go until I jet off to Washington DC for the SLA 2009 conference, I think I’m almost ready. Bags are not quite packed, but being the good librarian that I am I have of course made several lists (things to pack in hold luggage, things to pack in hand luggage, things I still need to buy, things I might buy if I see them somewhere but are not essential, things I need to persuade my boyfriend to lend me… Oh yes. I am the list master).

I’ve also been trying to plan my route to Heathrow on Friday, along with the other three SLA Early Career Conference Award winners (complicated by the tube strike!), organising my schedule, and figuring out what to do with the one day I have (mostly) free for sightseeing. The one thing I am sure of at the moment is that I will be utterly exhausted by the time I get back next week – there’s so much I want to do at the conference! It looks like a really exciting program, I’m sure I’ll get a lot out of it. I will be blogging as much as I can while I’m there (probably not live  – I find it difficult to take things in if I’m trying to write in a coherent fashion at the same time!), and probably writing up what I didn’t have time to blog when I get back.

I’m also planning to try out this “networking” lark that I’ve been hearing so much about – apparently SLA is a good place for it! To this end, I’ve made myself some business cards:

My business card

I posted this to Twitter yesterday and the feedback was broadly positive. I don’t know how many I’ll hand out to be honest, but I thought it would be useful to have, if only so I don’t find myself rummaging in my bag for a scrap of paper to scribble my email address on!

I think I’ve got all the big things sorted for the trip, now I just need to conquer my fear of flying…

2 comments on “Countdown to SLA 2009

  1. Have a great time in America!

    I hadn’t realised before that you’re doing the City MSc – I did it in 2005-6. Am I still the only person that enjoyed the DITA module?

    Incidentally, I have a holiday packing spreadsheet for me and my husband because we both hate packing so much. Recently I’ve started adding new sheets to it for different types of trip. Hurrah for librarian tendancies!

    • I loved DITA! So many people complained about it, but most admitted by the end of term that it wasn’t that bad. Sadly, they’re talking about restructuring it for next year, taking out some of the database/algorithms/programming stuff and adding more about web 2.0 and library management systems instead, which I think would be a real shame. Just seems to me like that’s the sort of thing you can really pick up outside of the course, whereas most of the stuff on DITA I probably wouldn’t have learnt otherwise.

      LOVE the holiday packing spreadsheet idea btw – may have to steal that one!

Leave a Reply

