Leave a comment

EDM on redundancies in universities

Hat tip to @SmilyLibrarian for posting this on Twitter: an EDM concerning redundancies in universities. I can’t help but feel this is an ineffectual gesture, but I’m asking my MP to sign it anyway.

This is a little close to home, actually: given that I’m currently working in a university library, I know there’s been rumours flying around for a while about academic libraries “restructuring” and the inevitable redundancies this would bring. I may be stating the obvious here, but if the intention is to reduce the number of library staff then that just strikes me as false economy. I suppose the library is an easy target for budget-cutting – we don’t actually bring in any money – but reducing staff will have a massive impact on the level of service we are able to provide, which can only have a negative impact on the University as a whole.

I’m actually not going to be working in this sector for much longer – I’ve been offered a position in the information department of a law firm, so I handed in my notice here last week (I start my new job in June, just after I get back from the SLA conference in Washington DC – more on that soon!). I’ll miss the work I did here, and I’ll certainly miss my colleagues, but I really won’t miss the bureaucracy. I’ll be working in a much smaller team in my new job, which I really prefer: maybe I’ve just been lucky with the places I’ve worked, but I’ve always found that the smaller the team, the easier it is to get things done.

Leave a Reply

