6 Comments

I ate’nt dead: resurrecting my blog for 2014

(With apologies to Sir Terry Pratchett for the title)

So, it’s been more than nine months since I last updated this blog. I managed a grand total of two blog posts in 2013. Whoops…

There are probably several reasons for the precipitous decline in my blogging. My professional writing has taken other outlets in the past year, with my semi-regular column for CILIP Update (incidentally, I will be adding all my columns from last year to the blog shortly, so keep an eye out!). The job I started last January has been fairly time-consuming and stressful, which hasn’t left me with much energy left for blogging. My CPD has taken a nosedive too, for the same reason (and also partly due to less support from my employer for external CPD).

I think the main reason though, is that I’m feeling less connected to the librarianship and information profession as a whole, so I’ve struggled to come up with things I could meaningfully blog about. I suppose this was an inevitable consequence of taking a non-librarian job in an organisation with no other information professionals, but I honestly didn’t see it coming. Lesson learned, I guess!

If this sounds a bit like I’m moaning about my job, it isn’t meant that way. I really enjoy the work I do, and I don’t regret leaving the corporate librarian sector for it. I think I just need to put more effort into connecting with the wider information profession – I’d really taken for granted how much easier that was when I was working in a library job, surrounded by librarians every day!

Fortunately, I have an Exciting Announcement which will both give me the drive to reconnect with the library world, and opportunities to do so. I’ve been asked to write a book for Facet, as part of their “Tips for Information Professionals” series! My book is provisionally titled “Practical Tips for Demonstrating your Value”, and will take my CILIP columns from this year as a starting point.

I’m both excited and terrified about this! I’m pretty sure I can do it, but I’m also pretty certain that it will eat up all my spare time this year and drive me slightly loopy in the process. I will be blogging further about my plans for the book, as well as looking for potential contributors, in the coming weeks (promise!).

I also plan to blog much more regularly this year. I’m sad about neglecting my blog so badly, and I do miss the engagement I get from blogging. I know a lot of people think blogging has lost its value over the past few years, mostly replaced by Twitter and other instant communication, but I guess I’m old fashioned. I always enjoyed writing my blog, and I still love reading the blogs of other information professionals.

So, with all of the above in mind, these are my professional resolutions for 2014:

  1. Write book, try not to let it drive me crazy
  2. Blog at least once per month (this seems a realistic goal!)
  3. Attend at least two librarianship professional development events

Those all seem like achievable goals. Writing the book may make it a busy and difficult year, but as 2013 really felt like a dead year in terms of how much I accomplished professionally, I think I’m ready to shift back into a higher gear. My mascot for the year will be this Determined Owl (who may be a familiar sight already to my Twitter followers!) – like the Owl, I shall stride determinedly past any obstacles in my path!

Ok 2014. Let’s do this.

6 comments on “I ate’nt dead: resurrecting my blog for 2014

  1. Welcome back Laura, I’ve enjoyed your column and look forward to the book!

  2. Lovely to have you back. Congratulations on your opportunity to write a book!

  3. Laura – delighted to see you’re back blogging, I’ve missed you. I’m over the moon about your book commission! You’ll certainly keep yourself busy for the next year. Your resolutions are all SMART and achievable. I’ll join you in number 2 and we can have a competition to see which of us lives up to it. I’m just trying to finish the last 100 words on my Info Outlook article and finding it hard. But figure by the end of the year I’ll be able to write it in my sleep. After all practice makes perfect.

  4. Laura, I’m glad to hear that you will be blogging again as I’ve missed your viewpoint and the way you deliver it so clearly. Congratulations on the book commission.

  5. Thanks everyone for the kind comments!

    Kate, I’d be equally delighted to see you blogging more regularly! Looking forward to reading your Info Outlook articles too :)

    Nina – thank you very much, that’s very kind of you to say! I do feel like I’m rambling sometimes so it’s good to hear it comes across reasonably clearly!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,504 other followers

